Infection

Not too long back, I had chronic hives. These have for the most part disappeared after having the Mirena IUD removed. Unfortunately for me, because I had hives while I was on a few different antibiotics, doctors assume that I am allergic. In fact, I am listed as being allergic to all classes of antibiotics. *sarcastic confetti*

I had a different allergist (my former no longer accepts my insurance), tell me that he doesn’t believe I am allergic to anything. My last testing was done while I was on prednisone. He said if I’m only getting hives, this is probably due to dermatographism and he believes my body is attacking itself (autoimmune), but doesn’t know which autoimmune disorder could be doing it. As far as antibiotics, he said I could just take them with beneadryl to prevent the hives. Unlike my former allergist, he just wants to dump a lot of medications on my body and send me to a colleague to be hospitalized for oral challenges in a controlled environment. Yeah, I don’t think so.

I ended up with a bladder and yeast infection after the IUD removal and the doctor decided to give me 3 days of ciprofloxacin, along with the generic of diflucan, providing I took it with benadryl as directed. I took the diflucan first and waited a day as I was told it didn’t matter what order I consumed them in. I had 12.5mg of benadryl with my first dose and a massive anxiety attack. I ended up having a quarter of ativan, because I was just plain scared about having a bad reaction. After 4-6 hours, I was fine, and feeling fine. I took my morning dose without benadryl, as well as my third dose this past evening. The only issue I really feel is the anxiety, horrid dry mouth, and constipation. That’s not too bad. I have three more doses to take and I’m done. I still feel pain and tenderness, but it’s not as bad as it was two days ago.

I hope 3 days is enough to fully eradicate this infection. It hurts to sit down which is an odd feeling. Then the general cramping when I’m laying down is uncomfortable. Its still pretty sharp when I put pressure on my bladder, but I’ve had no issue peeing thankfully.

I’ve read conflicting views on vitamin c and cranberry juice. Some suggests it makes the pain worse because it causes the urine to be more acidic. Others suggest it helps to flush out the system because it is acidic and doesn’t allow bacteria to breed. I’m not very good at avoiding acidic foods and drinks especially when coffee and tea is concerned.

I just want this infection gone! I want to get to spend more time with my daughter instead of being sick.

Leave a Reply

