Olay Age-Defying Anti-Wrinkle Day Cream + Serum

I needed a new moisturizer that wasn’t going to clog my pores. My mom is a fan of Olay products and suggested I purchase a moisturizer from that brand. The first one that stood out is the day cream + serum. I purchased the bottle at Walmart and I think it was close to $10.99 for the cost.

olayagedefyingdaycreamserum

Directions say to use this day cream first thing in the morning, but I decided to try it out at night. I’m picky about how products feel on my skin, so I’d rather test them out when I don’t intend on going out any where. (My previous moisturizer was water-based, but it made my skin look terribly oily and as though I had not washed my face in days. It also made me more prone to breakouts.)

I haven’t read any reviews on this product yet. I sort of want a fresh look at it for myself and then I may compare my results to how others enjoyed it.

I needed about 3 pumps to cover my entire face and neck after washing my face with Neutragena french milled bar soap and patting it dry with a towel. My face has been really dry. Being in New England, we’ve had bursts of hot and cold weather which has been quite terrible for my skin. I’m hoping 1-2 pumps is about average. You do not get a lot out, so having that little amount cover half of my dry face, probably isn’t too bad!

First impression is that this stuff smells really good. Second impression is that it feels a bit greasy when applying it. While this greasy feeling lasted on my fingers until I washed my hands, the feeling does not linger on my face and neck. My skin looks brighter, but not oily or dirty. It feels soft and a lot smoother. I will note I broke out on my face with acne due to my period, and only two areas had very slight irritation when applying this product. It was the slightest burning, but it only lasted a few seconds. My skin didn’t stay red and irritated around those troubled areas either. In fact, the redness that I did have after washing my face, subsided.

I also noted that the skin around my fingers looks a lot better where I had got some product. Skin looks tighter and more supple overall including on my face and neck.

– One Week Update –

I only need one pump of the product now since I have been using it consistently each day. On day 3, I needed two pumps because I was out in cold weather almost all day and my face did get a bit dry, but no where near as dry as it had been getting. I’ve used the product for 8 days since I first wrote this post. I haven’t had much of an issue with dry skin on my face or peeling. I have melasma on the bottom corners of my chin just under my bottom lip and even that hasn’t been irritated by this moisturizer! I just realized I should have taken some before and after photos, but you can’t fully see how my skin feels. After a week it feels more supple, even, and soft. My acne is almost diminished and I usually get horrid cystic acne on my face. I am so pleased with the results that I purchased a night cream to try since I just ran out of my previous cream and will review that as well.

Anyone else pleased with their Olay purchase?

Leave a Reply

