Moving Forward

Both my partner and I are seeing new therapists. I think it is something that is important for us both. There has been so much death and other bad things and we each handle this stuff differently. We realized that the reason we haven't been supportive to one another is because we are both so burnt out. We each need help getting back on track. My partner becomes super codependent while I take control because I don't trust others to get stuff done. We each need to find a balance.

We have each decided to take on some lifestyle changes as well. I have been purging items we don't need for a while now, but now we need to take the next step. Everything has a space and everything in it's place. I have been doing much better with this concept, but my partner still struggles. We are looking for ways to help make the transition of putting things away, right away, easier to remember. He has ADHD and either gets hyper focused on something or just doesn't remember. I end up cleaning so much and don't have time to do fun things. I need everyone on board to make this work. If everyone takes care of things right away, this will reduce our tasks.

Another change is designated days or times for cleaning. Say I drop something on the floor, I will pick it up right away, but I'm mopping the whole floor tomorrow. Unless it could cause a stain or harm, it can wait. Waiting isn't a bad thing as long as there is a schedule to follow.

Then diet changes happen in August. I'm not thrilled, but it is meant to improve health over all. I'm hoping to be able to meal prep for much of the week. That should make it less stressful. It will also help my mom who is looking to have gastric bypass surgery.

My mom has struggled with her weight but has been under 300lbs for some time now. Both of her knees are blown, but they won't do surgery until she loses more weight and has the excess skin removed (it causes yeast issues with her legs cause it hangs). She doesn't qualify for skin removal until she loses more weight. Being mostly house bound, she can't lose more weight unless she can move around. We don't know if the bypass will do the trick, but it's the only next step that she can potentially take that puts her closer to knee surgery so she can walk. Also part of the stress we have been dealing with.

I'm ready for more positive changes. I know it will take time and I just have to stay focused and keep at it.

Leave a Reply

